A book is a book is a book

In my teen years and till I reached my late twenties, I would read anything I get my hands on. That’s when I found the suspenseful world of murder with Agatha Christie and Erle Stanley Gardner and the fabulous work of P.G.Wodehouse and so many writers. I flirted with Barbara Taylor Bradford, got tickled by The Thornbirds, looked for Catcher in The Rye because that was what prompted two assassinations, and ended up reading a Pocketful of Rye instead, and wondered what in that book triggered lunacy?

But, this is just to give you an idea of how I would read anything. I would actually give up books during my kid’s exams because once I get into a book, I’m zoned out. I have no idea what is going on around me. Most people party when their kid’s exams get over. I would excitedly pick up the book that I had left for myself as a reward for making it through their exams.

Leave a Reply

